Day 10, Rolling On #TransAmRide4TBI 7/18/17

We didn’t get very early of a start because we needed to go to bike shop before we left and it didn’t open until 9. So we had plenty of time to wake up and get a good breakfast. Bike shop wad along our route, but 25 miles from hotel. 
We left a bit before 8 and made god timbre getting there. Along the way I spotted something I thought I might never see, despite this being my second trip to the area, the Great Salt Lake. It was still in the distance but I got a good look at it. 

When we got to The Bike Shoppe, in Ogden, UT, I decided to have them dio some work on my bike too. The two spokes I tightened twice day before were loose again, and my shifting was a bit off.
They quickly took care of my bike, but we had to wait a while because they had to go get a part for Jr’s wheel. We were there about 2 hours, but they got us take care of as quickly as possible. 

We changed our route to accommodate for the lost time, which meant riding a couple more sections of I84. Wasn’t preferred route, but kept us from falling further behind schedule. Turned out to be quite pretty. 

We made pretty good time the whole day. Met some great guys at lunch, one of whom had a son that did similar ride. 

There was lots of beautiful scenery, and our climbs were mostly gradual, so it didn’t take much out of us. W rested frequently, and kept fueling our tanks (something we been neglecting). Our goal was to make Francis, UT, stock up on water, and then find first place we could to camp. 

Few miles before we got to Francis a woman on side of road yells something to us but we went by too fast to hear it. Shortly thereafter she pulls up next to me in her car and tells me she used to do bike tours and offered us a place to stay. So we pulled over to discuss. 

Turns out she lived in Francis, which was perfect, and we accepted her offer. We got directions and rode the rest of the way to her house.

Eileen was very generous, and kind and we had great time that evening. We were instantly greeted by her dogs who made us feel very welcome. We had a long chat with her father, 88yo, (and his sweet dog) who shared his life story, and what a life it was. Meet her wonderful husband, Gio, and her cousin (?) Judy. We had a great evening with them, and were well fed, and cared for. Truly wonderful people. 

#TransAmRide4TBI 3600mi for #TraumaticBrainInjury #TBI 

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment:

