Last day pre #TransAmRide4TBI 

I landed in Portland shortly after noon, Saturday, July 8, the day before we were to start our ride. Our wonderful hostess, Lily, picked me up at the airport. And that is when I learned we had a problem. My ride partner, Doug (aka Jr for being younger of us two Dougs), didn’t have a bike. His hasn’t shown up yet. 

Friday afternoon, knowing his bike hadn’t arrived he called UPS, and found out they had tried to deliver twice, unsuccessfully (needed signature). Jr arranged for them to hold bike at warehouse and Lily would pick up. Unfortunately she got to warehouse Saturday morning and they had no idea where bike was. So when she picked me up she was quite upset. 

She took me home and i started reassembling my bike and getting my stuff ready while she called UPS multiple times trying to find Jr’s bike. 

While she was doing that I found tear in my bike box and realised my bike computer and of other critical item, gripper for my cooking set,  were missing. Went online, filed claim, and went of in search of replacement. Went to REI where helpful salesman helped me find replacement for both. 

Jr’s flight landed shortly after and I had to break bad news to him. He quickly found local bike shop online, called, and arranged for a rental to start our ride. Upcycle bikes in Portland, OR, started open a bit late, and set him up with a good bike. (Thanks guys, you rock!)

So we got my bike and trailer and the rental ready for the ride to the Pacific Ocean and back. We only could take one trailer, so went minimal, and set my bike up to pull it. Rental was good bike, but it was a hybrid, with fatter, lower pressure tires, and standard pedals, so it was more work than his road bike to ride that distance, therefore made sense for me to take trailer. 

Plan was to ride to Pacific, and then instead of heading south east from there as planned, return to Portland Monday morning and hope Jr’s bike would show up. 

Not a great way to start the trip, but we were ready…

#TransAmRide4TBI 3600mi for #TraumaticBrainInjury #TBI 

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last day pre #TransAmRide4TBI 

  1. UPS better pay for your missing gear!

Please comment:

