Pre #TransAmRide4TBI prep

I’ve been meaning to write about my training and preparations regularly as the ride grew nearer, but only managed a couple of posts. Life got in the way. As important as this ride is to me, spending time with my wife, and fur babies, getting things done around the house, and at work, all were higher priorities at the time. They are still important, but ride time is here. 

I’m currently sitting on a plane headed to our start point in Portland, OR. Upon arrival I have reassemble my bike, and trailer. Get my gear loaded, and everything set to start riding first thing tomorrow morning. We will actually head west first from Portland to get to our true start point, the Pacific coast. Monday we will start working our way east through Salt Lake City, and Denver, working our way to Battery Park in Manhattan. 

I’ve put in my training miles on bike and run, my legs as ready as they will get. I’ve practiced pulling my loaded trailer, and climbed thousands of feet worth of hills. I’m feeling strong, and ready, and I’m excited to begin this adventure. My ride partner, Douglas Forsyth, aka Jr (because he’s the younger of the two of us Dougs), will be arriving a few hours after me. My bike and trailer have been there waiting for me since Thursday. 

It feels great to not only be about to set it on a coast to coast bike ride, but also to be doing my part to raise awareness and money for traumatic brain injuries (TBI). This is an injury that too many suffer every year, and often with delayed and missed diagnosis. Symptoms can take days or weeks before showing and sometimes months before being recognized. Very few people know all the signs and symptoms of brain injury, and therefore don’t realize they have one, and they are often disbelieved as no one can actually see their injury. Too often they suffer alone. I’m riding to help bring TBIs to light. 

Please follow me on my journey and share with those you know. I’m doing this ride unsupported (pulling everything I need in my trailer), and self funded in support of The Brain Injury Association of New York State. You make donations online, and follow me on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. You can read official press release on BIA of NYS website

Thank you! 

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in #AT4All, #AT4EveryBody, #TransAmRide4TBI, AT4All, Athletic Trainer, Athletic Training, Athletics, bike, Brain Injury Awareness, Brain Injury Awareness of New York State, concussion, Concussion, crash, Cycling, education, educator, Emergency, Emergency Medical Training, Every Body Needs An Athletic Trainer, Injury, Injury Prevention, Ironman, Medical, Not Alone In Brain Injury, Prevention, rehabilitation, return to play protocol, Sports, Sports Medicine, TBI, Training, TransAmRide4TBi, Traumatic Brain Injury, Triathlon, We Got Your Back, Youth Safety. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment:

