Looking to Improve

Resolve: to make firm decision about.

Resolution: a course of action determined or decided on.

Goal: the result or achievement toward which an effort is directed.

I’m not of these New Year’s resolution kind of people. That doesn’t mean I don’t set goals for improvement, I just don’t make a yearly determination for them. I always have jessthem, and as one is achieved, a new one is set. In my opinion, if you aren’t looking to improve, you’ve given up and are just sorting floating to the end. I’m all about improving, I’m just not resolute about it, merely have a goal of it. However, I am deciding to follow my wife’s example and publish some of my current goals. They range from athletic, to work, to professional, and to personal.

So, here they are, and in no particular order:

1 – I want to start posting in my blog more often. I’ve been very sporadic since I first started it, and this bothers me. I love writing, and sharing my thoughts, and adventures. I have dozens of posts partially written, I just haven’t gotten around to finishing them. Last year for National Athletic Training Month (NATM) I had a goal to write a post a day NATM 2014 logo colorrelated to athletic training. I only missed 2 or 3 days. I thought this would get me started again, but no, I went several months without another post.

2 – I want to continue to improve the care I give my athletes at work. I’ve been an athletic trainer at my current school for over 13 years, and each year I’ve tried to make some improvements. This involves not just improving the facility, equipment, and event and practice coverage, but also improving my knowledge and skills. There is always something that can be improved, new techniques, and technology to learn and acquire. Always room to improve.

3 – I’m still looking for my sub 11 hour Ironman, and do another sub 5 hour ½ Ironman. I also want to qualify for my 3rd age group national championships in triathlon and finish in top 20% of my age group.

4 – I want to improve my swimming. Part of this is for my triathlon goals, part of this is just because in over 7 years of triathlon I have improved in both running and cycling, but my swim is unchanged. I want to get stronger, and faster. I want to return to Swim Ocean City and not only finish the full 9 miles, but I want to do so in less than 5 hours. If I’m the lastopen_swim_ocean_city_maryland_1-300x252 finisher again, that is fine, I just don’t want to look like I’m on deaths doorstep this year.

5 – I want to continue to become more involved in my profession. Several years ago I took on the task of being the LinkedIn account manager for the National Athletic Trainers’ Association District 2 (NATAD2). About a year later I took on the responsibility for handling the Section One Athletic Trainers’ Society (SOATS) Facebook, and Twitter accounts, and later took over their LinkedIn account, basically becoming their social media coordinator. From there I started becoming more and more vocal in supporting and promoting our profession on social media, and everywhere else I could. Including the blogging I mentioned about during NATM above. Back in October, 2013, I became the New York State Athletic Trainers’ Association’s (NYSATA) Newsletter Chair and Editor. I’m not sure what the next step will be: larger role in promoting NATM, being very active in helping find support in getting our (NYSATA) new practice act passed, or other. But, I’m sure I’ll find something.

6 – I want to become a better husband. I feel I already do a lot for my wonderful wife, but wedding picI’m sure that there is more I can do, ways I can better show my love for her, and ways I can improve our relationship. I’ve put this late in the list, but it is the most important one. I’ve got some ideas, but it is just a matter of actually implementing them. No, I’m not sharing them on here though.

7 – I want to do a better job checking things off of our home improvement to do list, which is quite extensive. We’ve done a lot, but there are a lot of little projects that have I’ve been putting off and a few projects that I’ve never quite finished. This would also help with goal #6, but only a little bit.

Sorry, nothing exciting here. Unfortunately, I’m off to a poor start on it too. This post was supposed to have been written, and was actually started, at the beginning of January, and here it is February and I’m making my first blog post. Fortunately I have been doing better with projects around the house, you can find some here, and here, I edited my first NYSATA newsletter, and I have done some nice things for my wife, but still got ways to go there too…

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking to Improve

  1. You are the best husband that I could ask for. Even when I get frustrated, I have to admit that you take good care of me, our pets and our house. Together we are creating the most amazing home.

Please comment:

