Thank You To All Of MY Athletic Trainers!

NATM_2013_2blueIn keeping with the spirit of National Athletic Training Month, it is only fitting and fair that I should make mention of and thank the athletic trainers that helped me get to where I am today. I may have gotten a push from my father and my injury years to first start down this road, but they are the ones not only taught me the ins and outs of athletic training, but they showed and shared with me their love of the profession. Without each and every one of them, who knows what I’d be doing and where I would be now.

I have to start off with the big three, Rex Sharp, Neal Hazen and Tony Cox. They were the true heart of the athletic training program while I was at Ball State. I learned so much from them, not only about athletic training, and how to be an athletic trainer, but also a true love for what I do. They made learning fun. They created an environment that the athletes and students felt comfortable in, and where they felt secure, and well cared and about. These guys were awesome and I still try to hold myself to standards of care that I learned from them.

Dr Ferrara and Dr Weidner were incredible teachers in and out of the classroom. Learned a lot from them.

Our GA Shawn Comer added to my education while I was there, and though he probably never knew, served as a great mentor and role model.

Mario, who was the first athletic trainer that I ever worked with once I became a certified and licensed athletic showed me a lot in that one year we worked together. My first year in Texas would have been tough without him.

My two assistants that I had in Texas, first Paul and then Heather Lash, also played a huge role. I was the veteran, and the one in charge, but that didn’t mean that there weren’t things they could teach me, and they did.

And last, but not least would be the four wonderful assistants I’ve had in the last couple of years. Michael, John Acost, Adela Igniska, Shari Wagner and Nick Imhof who all have been a wonderful help to me and helped bring some fresh air and ideas into my athletic training room. My years and experience are more than theirs, but each one of them has taught me a few things in their brief time with me.

Thank you one and all! You are a big part of who I am, and what I do, and I deeply appreciate all you have done. Happy National Athletic Training Month!

 

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in #AT4All, #AT4EveryBody, #ATsPrepareNY, #NATM2013, #NATM2015, #NYNATM2015, AT4All, Athlete, Athletic Trainer, Athletic Training, Athletics, ATsPrepareNY, Cycling, education, educator, Emergency, Emergency Medical Training, Every Body Needs An Athletic Trainer, Injury, Injury Prevention, Medical, National Athletic Training Month, NATM, NATM2015, NYNATM2015, Prevention, rehab, rehabilitation, Running, Running Injury, Sports, Sports Medicine, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Uncategorized, Youth Safety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You To All Of MY Athletic Trainers!

  1. Dr. Vince says:

    Do all you can to prevent CTE. Thanks Trainers

    • We do what we can. We can’t prevent everything, but when it happens, we get them out, and keep them out until fully recovered and then begin a gradual return to play. Biggest part is educating the athletes, coaches and parents…

Please comment:

