Easy, Quick, Nutritious, and Delicious Brunch

2013-03-08_12-32-25_250Snow day meant sleep in and late breakfast. Almost more of a brunch than a breakfast, so I decided to try a new twist on one of my breakfast standards. I usually will do something similar to this with quinoa, but decided to switch it up a bit. It still resulted in a pretty healthy and tasty way to start the day.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup farro
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 cup frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, corn, peas)
  • 4 tablespoons chia
  • eggs

I put the water on to boil and put in bouillon cube. Once water was boiling I added in the farro, covered with lid and reduced heat to simmer for 15 minutes (until grain was tender). I put the veggies in a bowl and lightly thawed in microwave. You can thaw them in the cooking grain, but it reduces water temp and slows cooking. Just before the last of the water was absorbed in the farro I added in the veggies and chia.

About 5 minutes before grain was done I lightly sprayed skillet with olive oil and preheated it. I put several eggs in to fry and lightly seasoned with salt and pepper.

When eggs were done I spooned grain and veggie mix onto plate and topped with over eggs. Since this was an late breakfast, closer to lunch time, I added a couple pieces of toasted Green Way Cinnamon Swirl bread, and couple pieces of bacon. The bacon I had actually cooked up previous weekend. We never eat the whole package, but to save time and mess I always cook up the whole package. I’ll then put the left over pieces in freezer and just pull them out later and heat in a toaster oven.

From start to finish this only takes about 20 minutes to make. Pretty much zero prep work, minimal cleanup and it results in a delicious, nutritious breakfast/brunch for two.

2013-03-08_13-32-42_925** a number of years ago I stumbled across a wonderful little device. Misto is a nifty little sprayer that you can add just about any oil or liquid to and spray onto whatever you want. I have two by the stove at all times, one loaded with olive oil, the other sesame oil. I’ve also used it with vinegar to spray salads. You just put in your oil, pump it up, and spray. You can also see my favorite French coffee press behind it. Best way to make your morning coffee…

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in breakfast, brunch, Chia, Delicious, easy, Farro, Food, Healthy, meals, Nutrition, Nutritious, Whole Grain and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment:

