I AM an Athletic Trainer

NATM_2013_2blueWhat do you do?

I am an athletic trainer.

Oh, so what sport do you coach?

I don’t coach, I am an athletic trainer.

Oh, so you work in a gym or health club?

No, that is a personal trainer, I am an athletic trainer.

Then what do you do?

You know that person you see on the sidelines at games that runs out onto the field when someone is down?

Yes, so you’re the water boy.

No, I am an athletic trainer which is in the field of sports medicine. Part of the job is making sure athletes are kept safe, which includes proper hydration, but I’m mainly there in case someone gets hurt. I am the one that runs onto the field to help injured athletes. I am the one who makes a decision whether or not it is safe for them to return to the game. I am the one who tapes their ankle so that they don’t reinjure it. I am the one who makes sure that they have a proper brace to protect their injured knee. I am the one that stops their bleeding, and cares for their wounds. I am the one that tells them they need to see a doctor and get an MRI for that torn ACL. I am the one that splints their broken leg. I am the one that immobilizes them and gets them securely strapped in to a backboard for their suspected broken neck. I am the one that recognizes that they are showing signs of heat stroke. I am the one that recognizes that have a concussion. I am the one that helps them rehab from their injury. I am the one that monitors their return to play protocol after a concussion. I am the one who is there hours before every game and practice treating athletes and getting them ready. I am the one who is there hours after the game and practice icing and treating athletes injuries and filling out paper work. I am the one cheering loudest when they make it back onto the field for the first time after their injury. I am the one who went to an accredited athletic training program and spent over 1,800 hours working under and with a certified athletic trainer to learn my skills. I am the one who got a Master’s degree in my field. I am the one who passed a national certification exam to become an athletic trainer. I am the one who obtained a state license to work as an athletic trainer. I am the one who maintains a professional level CPR and AED certification. I am the one who does over 75 hours of continuing education every three years. I am the one that practices and drills on emergency procedures such as opening and maintaining an airway, immobilizing an athlete with spinal cord injury. I am the one that creates, reviews, updates, and teaches emergency action protocols. I am the one that communicates and works with doctors and other health care professionals to take care of my athlete.

I AM an Athletic Trainer!

Please help us protect the safety of our youth athletes!  **(petition failed)

March is National Athletic Training Month: Every Body Needs an Athletic Trainer

About Douglas Sawyer, MS, ATC

I am an athletic trainer who is also a very avid athlete. My first love is running, but I also love cycling and triathlons and many other activities. I'm not a swimmer though, I just don't drown for 2.4 miles... As a athletic trainer I work with sports injuries. I currently work at a school with athletes in 7th-12th grade in a wide variety of sports. I can be found on twitter at two different names: @IronmanLongRunr - where I tweet about run, bike, tri, & more @Longrunr - where I tweet about athletic training
This entry was posted in #AT4All, #AT4EveryBody, #ATsPrepareNY, #NATM2013, #NATM2015, #NYNATM2015, Airway Management, AT4All, Athlete, Athletic Trainer, Athletic Training, Athletics, ATsPrepareNY, concussion, Cycling, Emergency, Emergency Medical Training, Every Body Needs An Athletic Trainer, fracture, Injury, Injury Prevention, Medical, National Athletic Training Month, NATM, NATM2015, Not Trainer, NYNATM2015, Prevention, Race, Running, Running Injury, Sports, Sports Medicine, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Youth Safety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I AM an Athletic Trainer

  1. Corine says:

    This was very informative. I for one have a new understanding and appreciation for athletic trainers; thank you! And by the way, I did sign that petition… 🙂

Please comment:

